Morning or Night?

The Prophet صلى الله عليه و سلم made a Du’a (suppliction) that his Ummah would be blessed in the morning.  this du’a was accepted and as a result the Ummah of Rasul صلى الله عليه و سلم is blessed most in the morning.

What does this mean?  Well I don’t have a scholarly definition of what this means as I am sure a scholar can find a deeper meaning to it than I can.  BUT I do know one thing, if you are to have a productive day, don’t sleep after Fajr (Morning Prayer) and you will accomplish more than you have ever imagined.  And most things you will accomplish in the morning.  I have personally tested this and the days when I am up after Fajr, I get things done and in a more efficient manner than the days that I am not.

It was the sunnah of the Prophet صلى الله عليه و سلم to not sleep after Fajr, and it is even recommended that if one owns a business to have it open after Fajr and close it a bit after Dhuhr (Noon Prayer) for an afternoon nap and then open it until the evening.  This person will have much more barakah (blessing) in his business than the one who sleeps in after Fajr and does not start his day until 9 or 10.  Nowadays though even Muslim countries have shops open around 10 or 11 and they are open late into the night.

Most of our sleeping habits are ingrained in us from childhood and slowly they change because of societal pressures or other influences until we are adults and they become second nature to us.  We often don’t think about our sleeping habits, yet if we are to perfect ourselves for the One who gave us our sleep we must look at these habits and see if they are deteriorating our relationship with Allah (swt), and with our family.  Most people are not morning people, yet how can a Muslim who knows that mornings are blessed and that the latter part of the night should be used for the worship of Allah (swt) not change his habit to become a better slave.

I personally am not a night person, in fact a joke in my family exists that no one should talk to me after 8 because I respond in a way that makes me sound half asleep.  I however have tried to change my behavior in the evening so I don’t say something I regret.  Since most of our family functions (dawats, etc) are in the evening I am expected to be at my best behaviour at a time when all I can think about is sleep.  On days where I have evening commitments I try not to do much during the day so I don’t tired myself out and I try to rest in the afternoons so I am my best during the evening.  I also try not to say much at night because to me everything sounds bad during the nighttime even when said in the best manner and everything sounds much better in the morning.  These are just some things I’ve done to try and maintain family ties at a time when I would rather not be at my best behavior.  What is the best time for you during the day? (depending on what kind of person you are) What kinds of techniques have you tried to either stay up after Fajr or stay awake in the evening?  I’d love to hear it!

2 thoughts on “Morning or Night?

  1. Saleha says:

    wow i really liked this article. “Most people are not morning people, yet how can a Muslim who knows that mornings are blessed and that the latter part of the night should be used for the worship of Allah (swt) not change his habit to become a better slave.”

    never thought of it that way, great perspective!

  2. just me says:

    I love this article as i am NOT a morning person. This definitely made me want to strive to become one. Even though i am not a morning person, I have to say that having early mornings does feel way more productive than sleeping in.

Leave a Reply

